This blog is my attempt to document our busy but BLESSED lives raising and educating our children for His glory. A child of God, wife to one, and mom to 6 fabulous kids. We are in our 15th year of homeschooling using a Classical ~ Literature based approach.

Come along for the good, the bad & the ugly.

Friday, October 18, 2019

WorthyKids Books ~ The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls Books 5 & 6 ~ a TOS review

Happy Friday friends!

You know I love sharing great books with you and today is no different. Today I have another great set of books from the WorthyKids Books. We have read the first 4 books and now I am excited to share with you the two newest books that McKenzie has been reading from the Secret of the Hidden Scrolls: The Shepherd's Stone (Book 5) and Secret of the Hidden Scrolls: The Lion's Roar (Book 6).

As before, both books are penned by M.J. Thomas and present Biblical truths in a fun, fictional way. The target audience for these books are for children in grades 1-3 or ages 6-9. McKenzie just turned 10 and she is in the 4th grade, but she still loves to read this series. With just over 120 pages each they are perfect for kids just hitting the chapter book level. The pages of each of these paperback books are filled with black and white kid-friendly illustrations that add detail to the story but don’t distract overall.

In book 5, The Shepherd’s Stone, we find our favorite main characters, siblings Peter and Mary,along with their trusty dog Hank, thrust back into the excited adventure in Bethlehem as they seek to discover the ancient scrolls. In this book we hear the familiar story of David, a young shepherd boy. Along the way we witness the epic fight between David and Goliath. All the while they are still trying to avoid their old enemy, the Solider of Darkness.

Book six, The Lion’s Roar, continues the exciting story as the siblings travel through the city of Babylon as they battle the dangerous High Priest who is secretly plotting to push Daniel out of his position of power. As the trio meet Daniel and his lion’s den and race chariots, they still have the Solider of Darkness to contend with.

McKenzie and I both have enjoyed these books tremendously! and think you should definitely check them out to see if they would be a good fit for a young reader in your household. Even though is is above the reading level these are great books that give us an important look back in history. McKenzie enjoyed reading these books silently and also read aloud to her younger brother.

Secret of the Hidden Scrolls: The Shepherd's Stone (Book 5) & The Lion's Roar (Book 6) {WorthyKids Books Reviews}
We also can’t wait for the next installment, Book 7 to be released! Oftentimes, finding good quality literature is hard to do, but this series from M.J. Thomas has us excited to read more! These books have earned a coveted spot on our bookshelf! I can’t wait for Micah to be old enough to read these exciting books in a few years as well.

 And guess what! You can enter to win signed copies of the entire 7 book series below!

WorthyKids Books is giving away THREE readers the chance to win the entire series of the Hidden Scrolls. For your chance to win to to: Win Books 1-7 of The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls to enter. And don’t just take my word for it, be sure to see what my CrewMates thought of these two books by clicking the banner below.

Secret of the Hidden Scrolls: The Shepherd's Stone (Book 5) & The Lion's Roar (Book 6) {WorthyKids Books Reviews}

Company ~ 
WorthyKids Books

Product ~ The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls, book 5 & 6

 Ages ~ 6-9, grades 1-3

Social Media Links:

Facebook ~ Instagram ~ Pinterest

Crew Disclaimer

©2008 - 2019 A Stable Beginning. All rights reserved. All photographs, text, artwork, and other content may not be reproduced or transmitted in any form without the written permission of the author.

blog comments powered by Disqus